Getting into the Christmas Spirit

Wow it’s the most wonderful time of the yearrrrrr! Ho Ho Ho! Yep it’s me. Jolly old David (well not really that old) and I am spreading the Christmas cheer. Seriously, I am really ready for Christmas now. I can’t emphasise how crappy a year this year has been so actually having something fun to celebrate is going to be a life saver.

I mean seriously, this year has been AWFUL. I have been ill for the whole year (again), and there has been no light at the end of the tunnel. My uncle, who I was so incredibly close to, passed away after a long battle with cancer. This man, gosh, he was just amazing. He was brave; he was a fighter. He was so inspirational. And to think that he is no longer with us is just the most painful thing I have experienced in a long long time.

If that wasn’t all, my brother and father have both been in hospital and my Mum has battled along through all of it. She’s also so strong and an unbelievable trooper. She’d do anything for the family. In fact, both my parents would and they are such amazing parents and people. So it’s been hard seeing them suffer with their ailments in addition to the tragedy my family has had to bear with this year.

And then, I have been single for a LONG time.  Dating is a nightmare. I tried online dating but that was not a good experience. I never knew so many people were so vain and superficial. That or I am just incredibly boring and ugly. I don’t think that’s the case. at least I think it’s not.

So with all the bad stuff that has happened this year, it’s time for us to have a break from it all and I fully intend this Christmas to be as amazing as possible. I only have a few days left now before the end of my working year (7 I think) and then I am free to relax, be merry, drink copious amounts of alcohol and eat lots of good food and watch many a good movie. I intend to also do everything I can to ensure that my family have the best time. I have already sorted their presents out and I’m so excited to give them. I really hope they like them. And I am doing everything I can in the interim to reign in my OCD and depression for the holidays. Now I know that it isn’t something that you can just switch off but I am going to fight it for all its worth to make sure I can be there for everyone.  I also intend to make contact with all of my old university friends and non-immediate family. At a time like this, it’s important for us to remember who we care about and I intend to let everyone know that I am thinking of them. And for the time being, well let’s just say that I am watching every Christmas movie I can get my hands on. Today I watched “White Christmas” with Bing Crosby and Danny Kaye. The old movies are pretty great. I love Christmas films with snow!

But let’s hope that we all can have an incredibly last stint before a fantastic new year. I for one hope it brings some positivity and change and the best of health for everyone I know, including all of you fine people. If an attractive woman turns up my way as well….well, I wouldn’t say no!

Looking forward to sharing these next few weeks with you folks!

David

santa

2 thoughts on “Getting into the Christmas Spirit

Leave a Reply

