Wise words from a friend


So I had a chat with a good friend this morning and we spoke about many things: football, politics, Christmas etc. We also spoke about a certain lady who has been the subject of a few of my blog posts. Yes, you guessed it. My crush. 

Without getting into the logistics of it all which in itself is a fair point (by that I mean, the beauty and the hindrance of any relationship in the blogosphere is that its participants are worldwide and not often in close  proximity), we spoke in length about my feelings and what they meant. Basically, the thing about developing feelings about someone through a blog is that you base your crush on perceptions of written words and perhaps a photo or two. In that sense, it is even different to love at first sight when you make a judgement based on mannerisms etc. What I’m saying is that I really do not know this person very well at all. Let me break it down further. I am and always have been a bit of a dreamer and silly heart. And I would love nothing more than to have some big amazing romance to happen through the most unlikely of places such as through WordPress. I can’t help but be a bit of a romantic. But my friend said that I had to be logical too. Romances very rarely come out of things like this. They come out of traditional means like face to face conversations or at the very least conversations where you can hear the other person speak. How else can you gauge a person’s sincerity? Hell, he felt that people would be “nice” or complimentary because they wanted you to follow their blog and comment on there’s too. I guess that’s true. We do interact with people on here often not out of generosity but also out of building a universe for you to interact in. And often it is the people that you interact with which are the people that interact back at you. You know, the whole, you like my posts and I’ll like yours. You do have a tendency for people on here to like posts they haven’t read through but because they feel obliged to support the post. I’m sure everyone has been guilty of skim reading and liking a post without fully taking it in. 

ANYWAY, after our conversation, I’ve had a bit of a think about things and I’ve decided that I am going to take a huge step back with things. At the end of the day, she’s the opposite side of the world and I’m in the U.K (Hell, even if she was in America that would be easier as at least I have family there!) so that’s a big stumbling block on it’s own AND like I said, I really don’t know her all that well. Hopefully if she reads this she doesn’t take offence. I still think she is a lovely caring person. I still think she is beautiful. But I really want to meet someone the right way. Perhaps it is time for me to stop being a dreamer and to be a realist. At least that way I was won’t suffer heartache again and that is in essence what my friend was most concerned about. I’ve fallen for the wrong people before and it’s me who gets hurt. Protect myself first. 

Sorry to all those who were encouraging about it all but I think this is probably for the best!

David

26 thoughts on “Wise words from a friend

  1. It is so easy to get swept along and carried away online. Being bloggers, we reveal a lot more of ourselves than we may do if we were to meet each other in person. It is also very easy to misread or misunderstand someone online (I know I have taken things the wrong way sometimes).
    Your time will come, David and you never know, it may well be through blogging! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

