The Book Review: Deception Point by Dan Brown

Hey guys, 

How are you doing? I’ve decided to do add to my collection of reviews by writing some book reviews. I know, right? I read too. What a catch! 😜

So my book review for today is the 2001 techno-thriller called “Deception Point” by Dan Brown. This was actually the fourth Dan Brown book I’d read but in my opinion it is one of the best. 

So what’s it about?

On the eve of a U.S. presidential election, NASA discovers concrete proof of extraterrestrial life within a meteorite in the Milne Ice Shelf. The discovery gains overwhelming political importance because NASA’s gross expenditure and low yield is the hottest topic of debate. To verify the authenticity of the evidence, the president sends a team of five carefully chosen individuals: four scientists – Michael Tolland, Corky Marlinson, Norah Mangor and Wailee Ming – and a National Reconnaissance Office (NRO) employee, Rachel Sexton, daughter of Senator Sexton the presidential candidate.

The authenticity of the discovery seems beyond doubt. But when the team discovers a seemingly insignificant anomaly, watching eyes strike. 

Thoughts:

Deception Point is written in your traditional Dan Brown style. It’s not overly complicated to read, it flows well and has likeable characters. The book isn’t overly long and it is filled with some great twists. I quite like tech-thrillers. I find them fun and also the little facts you might pick up through the stories although obviously I’m aware it is fiction so don’t worry, I’m not using these for general knowledge answers.  I also loved the settings for the book. Obviously, it being set in the Arctic, it’s different to your average story. Mix with that NASA and a presidential election and you’ve got some interesting counterparts. 

In terms of his other works, it perhaps isn’t as good as Digital Fortress but there is no shame in that. I read that bad boy in two days. But I would really recommend this book to anyone. So hey, go check it out now!
STAR RATING: ****

Leave a Reply

