Match.com Raunchy Advert


Okay, so forgive me in advance if you think I’m sounding prudish or politically incorrect. This is far from my intention. 

However, I was recently quite surprised by the latest Match.com advert on TV. This advert was aired on national TV at no later than 9.00AM. 

The advert, called “Messy girl” has a young girl return home and starts to strip off into her underwear throwing her clothes off in every direction. As she is stripping off, her partner, another young woman returns. She catches one of her items of clothing before taking her top off revealing her bra and then and proceeds to make out out passionately with her partner. 

Here is the full advert 

Now from a male perspective, the advert is obviously not unappealing. I mean, it’s two attractive ladies making out in their underwear. BUT, is this appropriate viewing for television at 9 o’clock in the morning? 

I have nothing against alternative lifestyles and I’m in no way homophobic. If you are a woman who is attracted to other women or a man who is attracted to other men, then fair enough. Live and let live. But should children be seeing overly sexual tones on television? Some may argue that if it was a man and a woman making out on television, I wouldn’t bat an eyelid. And perhaps I would be a little more accepting. I don’t know. Still, I feel that kids should not be exposed to overly sexual undertones. Indeed, I think there are a number of inappropriate perfume adverts where men and women are in next to no clothing and leaving very little to the imagination. Should kids be seeing this? You could argue that you’d see this sort of exposure on a beach. I guess my worry is kids seeing the passionate displays of affection. I don’t know if kids should be exposed to sex at such a young age. Shouldn’t these sorts of things be private? PLUS, aren’t adverts like these are not there to highlight alternative lifestyles but to make it seem sexy. 

My thoughts are all over the place with this. I’d love to know your thoughts. 

3 thoughts on “Match.com Raunchy Advert

Leave a Reply

